Ruggles Prize

The Nancy and Richard Ruggles Memorial provides for a Prize for a researcher or researchers aged 35 or under. The aim of the Prize is to promote the development of young researchers by recognizing their outstanding scholarship. One Prize will be awarded competitively on the basis of a paper presented at the General Conference of the International Association for Research in Income and Wealth (IARIW) and judged by the Nancy and Richard Ruggles Memorial Prize Committee. The next Prize will be awarded during the next IARIW General Conference to be held in London in August 2024. Papers can be authored by a single researcher or several researchers, all of whom must be equal to or less than 35 years of age on February , 2024 to be eligible for the Prize.

In order to be considered for the next Prize, authors must:

      • By the conference’s deadline (tba), submit an abstract for the IARIW 38th General Conference. The abstract must represent unpublished original work that is on a subject relevant to the interests of the IARIW.
      • Once your abstract has been accepted for the 38th General Conference of the IARIW, you will need to submit by July 31, 2024 the unpublished original paper associated with the abstract and a Curriculum Vitae (C.V.) for each author notifying each author’s eligibility in terms of age. E-mail the paper and C.V. to Andrew Sharpe at

The value of the Prize is $2,500 (U.S. dollars) in total, regardless of the number of authors. The successful author or one of the co-authors will be required to attend the IARIW conference to accept the Prize.

The Nancy and Richard Ruggles Memorial Prize can be held in conjunction with a financial assistance grant for the General IARIW conference. Information on financial assistance.

All persons who have submitted abstracts to the General Conference will be notified by the end of November 2023 regarding whether their papers have been accepted for the Conference program. The winner or co-winners of the Nancy and Richard Memorial Prize will be notified by August 15, 2024.

Thomas Crossley and Shatakshee Dhongde are the members of the Nancy and Richard Ruggles Memorial Prize committee.


Previous Winners

2022 Prize

  • 2022 Prize was not presented.

2021 Prize

2018 Prize

2016 Prize

2014 Prize

2012 Prize

2010 Prize

2008 Prize

  • 2008 Prize was not presented.

2006 Prize

2004 Prize